This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.
 

Directory of services for disabled patients

There are many charities and organisations working to provide advice and support for disabled people. Local council websites alo list organisations and groups offering support to people with disabilities and their families.

This a selection of some of the key organisations able to provide information and support.

Disability organisations

Ability Net - 0800 269545, www.abilitynet.co.uk. National charity offering support to adults and children on using computers and the internet

Alzheimer's UK - 0845 3000336, www.alzheimers.org.uk

Arthritis Care - 0808 8004050, www.arthritiscare.org.uk

Aspire - 0208 954 5759, www.aspire.org.uk - support for people with a spinal cord injury

Ataxia - 0845 6440606, www.ataxia.org.uk

Backcare - 0845 1302704, www.backcare.org.uk - supporting people with back and neck pain

British Polio Fellowship - 0800 180586, www.britishpolio.org.uk

Contact a Family - 0808 808 3555, www.cafamily.org.uk - supports for parents of disabled children

Deafblind UK - 0800 132 320, www.deafblind.org.uk

DEBRA - 01344 771961, www.debra.org.uk - support for people with edpidermolyis bullosa

Different Strokes - 0845 130 7172, www.differentstrokes.co.uk - support for younger stroke survivors

Elizabeth Finn - 0808 802 2000, www.elizabethfinntrust.org.uk - support for people suffering from financial difficulties

Leonard Cheshire Disability - 0203 242 0200, www.leonardcheshire.org - support for disabled people

Limbless Association - 0800 644 0185, www.limbless-association.org

Livability - 0207 452 2000, www.livability.org.uk - Christian disability charity

ME Association - 0844 576 5326, www.meassocation .org.uk - support for patients with ME

Mencap - 0808 8081111, www.mencap.org.uk - support for people with learning disabilities and their families

Motor Neurone Disease Association - 08457 626262, www.mndassocation.org

Multiple Sclerosis Society - 0808 800 8000, www.mssociety.org.uk

Parkinsons UK - 0808 8000303, www.parkinsons.org.uk

Restricted Growth Association - 0300 1111970, wwwrestrictedgrowth.co.uk

Shape Arts - 0207 424 7330, www.shapearts.org.uk - leading disability arts organisation

Spinal Injuries Association - 0800 980 0501, www.spinal.co.uk

Stroke Association - 0303 3033 100, www.stroke.org.uk

Advocacy, Advice and Information

AdviceUK - 0300 777 0107, www.adviceuk.org.uk - independent advice provider

Age UK - 0800 169 6565, www.ageuk.org.uk - support for patients in later life

Blue Badge Network - 01384 257001, www.bluebadgenetwork.org.uk - advocacy regarding blue badges

Dial UK - 0132 310123, www.dialuk.info - information and advice for disabled patients

Disability Rights UK - 0808 800 0082, http://disabilityrights.org

Independent Living Advice Line - 0300 555 1525

Equality and Human Rights Commission - 0845 604 8810, www.equalityhumanrights.com

National Centre for Independent Living - 0845 026 4748, www.ncil.org.uk

Ricability - 0207 427 2460, www.ricability.org.uk - consumer research organisation providing reports for older and disabled people

Scope - 0808 800 3333, www.scope.org.uk - advice and support service for disabled people

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
NHS WalesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website